Izmir third-most populous city in Turkey, after Istanbul and Ankara, and the second-largest metropolitan area on the Aegean Sea after Athens, Greece. Izmir is also known as Smyrna. Turkey officially the Republic of Turkey is a transcontinental country situated mainly on the Anatolian peninsula in Western Asia, with a smaller portion on the Balkan peninsula in Southeast Europe. Turkey is bordered by Greece and Bulgaria. Like other destinations, Turkey is one of the world's top ten destination countries, with Germany and Russia sending the most tourists.  Turkey is home to two of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World. Turkey includes the world's oldest religious site Göbekli Tepe, and numerous other World Heritage Sites.

The text above is a summary, you can read full article here.