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Essential Metrics to Consider for Your TV and Streaming Services

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Lellith Garcia
Essential Metrics to Consider for Your TV and Streaming Services

TV and streaming uses different business models compare to the conventional industries in which you sell or deliver a product or service then the transaction is done. TV and streaming is a Software-as-a-Service in which you charge through subscription basis, pay-per-view, freemium, or advertisements. However, the most common approach to charge your customers is on a subscription basis.

Given the indirect way of charging users for your services, you need to look at vital metrics to assess the feasibility of your prospective venture. The Key Performance Indicators (KPI) assess the driving factors for revenues and growth of your business.

Let's take a look at these key metrics in assessing your TV and streaming service.

1.            MRR/ARR

When you are charging on a subscription basis, you have Monthly Recurring Revenue (MRR) or Annual Recurring Revenue (ARR). MRR or ARR is a unique measure of your business that calculates the revenue from your customers. It also tracks new sales, upsells, renewals, downgrades, and churn.

Providing easy-to-use and navigate interphase of your website or app is a significant factor why customers continue to use your service. No one wants a complication to watch their favorite movies or series. Continue to upgrade your product offerings for your customers to have a lot to choose from.

2.            Customer Acquisition Cost

To gain customers, you have to spend on marketing expenses. This way, you will reach out to your target audience through different marketing channels. Marketing expenses are divided by the number of active users to get the Customer Acquisition Cost (CAC). Also, it is noteworthy to note that it is less expensive to maintain the current customers than to spend for new clients. That's why it is crucial to take care of the existing customers and retain them.

To illustrate CAC computation, let's say you spend $50,000 monthly for marketing expenses, and you get 250 customers. It means that your CAC is $200.

3.            Lifetime Value (LTV)

Lifetime value (LTV) is the average return per user for the duration of stay as a paying customer. Reducing the churn rate will significantly increase LTV. Meaning, per user renewal, will increase the customer lifetime value. On average, LTV: CAC ratio is 3:1, or you should earn 3x as much as the CAC for your business to be profitable.

4.            Average Cost of Service

Aside from monthly recurring revenue, customer acquisition costs and lifetime value, the average cost of service is another meaningful metric to look at. The average cost of service is the cost you spend to provide service to your existing customers. These costs include technical support, hosting, R&D, and account management. By computing the average cost of service, you will be able to identify your fixed and variable costs and provide you with input on how to cut costs without sacrificing value to your customers.

5.            Churn Rate

Churn rate is the percentage of subscribers who discontinued availing of your services. It measures how effective your services are and if the customers are still happy with your product offerings.  If they don't find added value with your show offerings, they will eventually churn.

As you are starting, you will first attract loyal customers. But as your customer base is growing, so is the churn rate. Customer retention is established over time as the customers who find value in your service will stay.

 

Presented above are the key metrics affecting the revenues and growth of your TV and streaming. You must keep them in watch and take immediate actions if the metrics are out of the ordinary to check if your business is stagnating or losing money.

Financial models templates for TV and streaming are available in eFinancialModels. Experienced industry experts prepared these templates to aid in your financial planning tasks. You can check their financial model templates here.

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Lellith Garcia
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